Home

Image

Media and privacy, sort of a contradicting statement.

How much do you know about your privacy and where your ‘stuff’ goes once you hit ‘upload’ on the internet?

In today’s social media age, people are sharing more information than they have ever with a larger audience than ever.

When the internet was first introduced to society, people were so concerned with keeping their information extremely private and did not want to make anything available on the internet. They were always worried about who might end up with it!

But now, we put so much information out on the internet that we probably can’t even remember what all is actually out there. My Facebook page that is view-able to all the public (friends and non friends) at its highest level of privacy (that I have found) shows my date of birth, where I’m from, where I go to school, and where I work.

So when did this become such a routine thing? Watch this quick video on the transformation of privacy through media.

We like to view: Think about all the times you check your preferred social media outlet. Can you come up with a general number or is it just too much? As a college student, the amount of times I ‘view’ Facebook is incredible. This ‘viewing’ habit only got worse the more engrossed I got into Facebook and the more personally involved I became.

We like to know: Similar to viewing, media users like to ‘know’ things. This idea of always being up-to-date on the newest information drives this urge ‘to know’. Think about Twitter, how many people do you follow? Why do you feel the need to ‘know’ their information that they tweet?

So for those who follow, view, and know your information are you comfortable knowing how much they know about you? Are you aware of the privacy setting of your own media outlet?

This idea of an exchange of information has given people a sense of security thinking that they are getting something in return. If I put up to date photos on Facebook, my hometown, my birthday, and where I work I will make friends in my hometown by networking and getting connections, I will show people what I do every day and photos that I take on a daily bases of my daily routines, and I will get a lot of birthday wishes on my birthday! But, whats the point? WHY is that all necessary?

Facebook has changed this perception in people, Facebook has MADE it necessary. Who wants to add the friend who has no up to date information, no birthday posted, or where they live? They probably seem like a total creeper (unless you know them well).

Also, you know Facebook works with third parties…can we say marketing jackpot??

This information that people give out is free, and Facebook takes advantage of that!

Read: Forbes article on media and privacy

So, privacy in media how ignorant are you? Chances are when you find out…there wont be much bliss.

3 thoughts on “Media & Privacy: Ignorance is Bliss, Or is it?

  1. I agree with the majority of what has been said above. I think that people who truly believe that because they have privatized their social media profiles, they are in the clear of ever being found (or found out about) are simply mistaken.

    I also think the point raised about information exchange becoming a security blanket is also a particularly salient point. A common train of thought seems to be that since “I can see theirs, it doesn’t matter that they can see mine since we’re on this level playing field together.” This is another great example of the naivete that surrounds being private on Facebook or other forms of social media. It’s really interesting to think about Facebook’s manipulative ability to subversively convince its users that this information exchange is synonymous with privacy. When you bring the idea of Facebook’s third-party partners and advertisers, it really becomes a complete wash, and transparently proves that whatever information one puts on Facebook will automatically be seen by “friends,” but also a multitude of strangers.

    The one point I take minor exception to is about people with no information on Facebook being “total creepers.” While I understand that side of the argument, I think it’s actually the only proof that there is a way around the Facebook security mind-game. Obviously no one wants a friend request from someone whom they do not know and has no available information, but the other side of the same coin is to bring up the argument of “no one is forcing you to put anything on Facebook.” Whether it be personal or professional information, pictures, birthdays or whatever else, the less one puts on, the less Facebook, it’s partners and any other social media portal can find out about you. In a sense, it seems kind of like the only way to go, given the rest of the reasoning in this post.

  2. I think it’s interesting to read about media privacy because no one realizes how much information they are actually putting online. There are so many people on my Facebook that are making status updates every hour complaining about things, letting people know what they’re eating and where they are going. No one takes the time to stop and think before posting an update or tweeting. I find myself a follower and a viewer, I am aware of the things that I am putting up online and censor everything so nothing is inappropriate or giving out too much information. I believe people do not realize their privacy settings are not really private and that once something is on the internet there is free reign to do what you want with it.

  3. I am absolutely guilty of feeling a sense of security through an equal exchange of information. I am generally a very modest person but as far as media privacy is concerned I guess I was always just ignorant to the true extent of availability of my personal information to any internet user. I just assumed that because a large percent of Facebook users provide personal information such as their birthday, school, place of work, etc. I would merely be a one in an million of other individuals who shared personal information.

    I have a twitter account but have never been very active on my profile. I get annoyed with people who tweet every time they transition from one activity to the next but I enjoy following comedy profiles and sports accounts for updates. I think that Twitter of all places is incredibly risky because people constantly update their whereabouts, activities, who they’re with. If that kind of detailed information fell into the wrong hands someone can get seriously hurt! I don’t think many people consider the “big picture” when using social media.

Leave a comment